Unitarian Universalist congregations affirm and promote seven principles, which we hold as strong values and moral guides.

Graphic of the seven UU principles
Image credit: Ellen Rocket

As Rev. Barbara Wells ten Hove explains, “The Principles are not dogma or doctrine, but rather a guide for those of us who choose to join and participate in Unitarian Universalist religious communities.”

Our Seven Principles

  1. The inherent worth and dignity of every person
  2. Justice, equity and compassion in human relations
  3. Acceptance of one another and encouragement to spiritual growth in our congregations
  4. A free and responsible search for truth and meaning
  5. The right of conscience and the use of the democratic process within our congregations and in society at large
  6. The goal of world community with peace, liberty, and justice for all
  7. Respect for the interdependent web of all existence of which we are a part

We live out these principles within a “living tradition” of wisdom and spirituality, drawn from sources as diverse as science, poetry, scripture, and personal experience.

Our Six Sources

  1. Direct experience of transcending mystery and wonder
  2. Words and deeds of prophetic people
  3. Wisdom from the world’s religions
  4. Jewish and Christian teachings
  5. Humanist teachings
  6. Spiritual teachings of earth-centered traditions

These seven principles and six sources of the Unitarian Universalist Association (UUA) grew out of the grassroots of our tradition, were affirmed democratically, and are part of who we are. Read them as they are written in the UUA Bylaws.